Music Faculty & Staff


Director of Vocal Activities

Dr. Fred Kiser
319-398-4959
fred.kiser@kirkwood.edu
Cedar Hall 380

B.M.; Bradley University, M.M.; University of Missouri – Columbia, D.M.A.; University of Iowa

Fred has directed choirs at several colleges in Iowa and Missouri, and loves working with choirs of all age ranges and abilities. He is also the Artistic Director of the Cedar Rapids Concert Chorale. Fred’s research emphasis is 17th century Italian Vespers music. He directs the Concert Chorale and teaches music fundamentals and appreciation.


Director of Instrumental Music

Joe Perea

319-398-5598
joe.perea@kirkwood.edu
Cedar Hall 375

B.M.; University of Cincinnati – College Conservatory of Music, M.M.; University of North Texas

Joe is the new Director of Instrumental Music. A seasoned community college instructor, he has joined the music faculty after previous appointments at Santa Rosa Junior College in Northern California and the Dallas County Community College District. He is an active performer, adjudicator and clinician. He has performed in symphony orchestras and wind bands throughout the United States, including the University of North Texas Wind Symphony directed by Eugene Corporon and the Dallas Wind Symphony directed by Jerry Junkin and the late Frederick Fennell.


Visual & Performing Arts Advisor

Karla Scriven
Arts and Humanities Department Coordinator
319-398-5896
karla.scriven@kirkwood.edu
Cedar Hall 336
A.A.; Santa Monica College, B.A.; University of California, Los Angeles

Originally from Venice Beach, California, Karla’s extensive theatre background includes performance art, performance theory, cultural studies and world arts. She is also a trained dancer in ballet, modern, jazz, flamenco and Mexican folklorico. Karla is a proud member of the Cedar Rapids Visual Arts Commission.


Applied Music Faculty

Dr. Allison Holmes-Bendixen Voice, Vocal Seminar allison.holmes@kirkwood.edu
Ben Laur Voice benjamin.laur@kirkwood.edu
Jessica Saunders Voice jessica.saunders@kirkwood.edu
Lena Nichols Piano lena.nichols@kirkwood.edu
Dr. Seong-Sil Kim Piano seong-sil.kim@kirkwood.edu
Beth Hoffman Violin, String Ensemble beth.hoffman@kirkwood.edu
Jessica Altfillisch Viola jessica.altfillisch@kirkwood.edu
Jeannette Welch String and Electric Bass jeannette.welch@kirkwood.edu
Lisa Wissenberg Clarinet lisa.wissenberg@kirkwood.edu
Greg Morton Oboe and Bassoon greg.morton@kirkwood.edu
Bruce Western Saxophone bruce.western@kirkwood.edu
Andy Harris French Horn andy.harris@kirkwood.edu
Dan Towey Guitar dan.towey@kirkwood.edu
Juan Carlos Mendoza Voice juan.mendoza@kirkwood.edu
Rose Bishop Flute rose.bishop@kirkwood.edu
Evan Fowler Trumpet evan.fowler@kirkwood.edu
Dr. Robert Parker Low Brass robert.parker@kirkwood.edu
Joe Perea Percussion joe.perea@kirkwood.edu