Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

Kirkwood's Board of Trustees Welcomes You!

View current members of the Board, review our mission, and learn about current and future initiatives at Kirkwood Community College.

Policies Schedules Agendas Minutes

Consistent with the philosophy held by the College in accordance with the charge given it by the State of Iowa as an institution of higher education and in concert with other agencies:

Kirkwood Community College ensures access to quality education, training, and lifelong learning with clear educational pathways that provide opportunities and support for all students to succeed.

To accomplish this mission we are committed to creating an environment in which we constantly strive for improvement.

The purpose of any strategic planning process is to evaluate the organization and provide direction for its future.

As chairman of the Kirkwood Board of Trustees, I lead a group who care deeply about this college. We are dedicated to serving the community around us in many ways. Our unique visions, perspectives, and experiences help us do so with integrity in the best interests of the overall college. 

The board is charged with setting Kirkwood policy and ensuring the effectiveness of the institution by monitoring and evaluating strategic initiatives and the financial direction of the college. The average length of service on our Board of Trustees is just over 10 years.

I invite you to learn more about college initiatives by attending future meetings or reviewing minutes.

James Mollenhauer


James Mollenhauer, Chair

4115 Winslow Road
Marion, IA 52302
(319) 431-4374

Represents: District 7
Elected: 2004
Occupation: Retired Banker


Tracy Pearson, Vice Chair

572 150th Street
Mechanicsville, IA 52306
(563) 432-6678

Represents: District 2
Elected: 2014
Occupation: CPA


Dr. Keith Stamp

17787 222nd St.
Monticello, IA 52310
(319) 465-5543

Represents: District 1
Elected: 2008
Occupation: Education Consultant


Peggy Doerge

34 N. 7th Avenue
Iowa City, IA 52245
(319) 621-8949

Represents: District 3
Appointed: 2023
Occupation: Retired Banker


Lorraine Williams

125 Green Meadows Drive
Washington, IA 52353
(319) 653-4012

Represents: District 4
Elected:  April 2015
Occupation: Business Owner


Alan Jensen

705 West Broad Street
North English, IA 52316
(319) 664-3179

Represents: District 5
Elected:  February 2015
Occupation: Retired Superintendent


Joel Thys

7861 21st Ave.
Blairstown IA 52209
(319) 454-6926

Represents: District 6
Elected: 2013
Occupation: Owner, Auto Dealerships


Steve Caves

3703 Cottage Grove Avenue SE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52403
(319) 899-1372

Represents: District 8
Elected: March 2021
Occupation: Retired Banker


Leslie A. Wright

6921 Kiowa Trace NE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52411
(319) 573-4917

Represents: District 9
Elected: 2021
Occupation: Consultant


Send your Board Policy questions to:

Peg Sprengeler
Phone: 319-398-5500