Arts & Humanities

Explore Community and World

Kirkwood's Arts & Humanities department provides a place for exploring community and world cultures through art, music, philosophy, religion, speech, theatre, and world languages.

Arts & Humanities programs encourage critical and creative thinking for lifelong learning, and contribute to the college mission and to the community through exhibitions, concerts, theatre performances, and Study Abroad.

Transfer Interest Areas We Offer:

The faculty and staff of the Arts & Humanities department at Kirkwood Community College welcome you to the 2020 – ’21 season of Visual and Performing Arts events. We have an exciting slate of music and theatre events you won't want to miss.

Due to COVID-19, all fall 2020 events will be streamed online.

For more information on Kirkwood Visual and Performing Arts:
Arts & Humanities
319-398-5896
Fax: 319-398-7135
arts@kirkwood.edu

Arbe_Bareis_The_Touch_of_Brauen_Gourds2.jpg
The Touch of Brauen Gourds
Arbe Bareis
Oil on Canvas
Main Campus Library
Arbe_Bareis_Silent_is_the_Pair2.jpg
Silent is the Pair
Arbe Bareis
Oil on Panel
Main Campus Library
Arbe_Bareis_Searching_For_Willa_Cather.jpgArbe_Bareis_Searching_For_Willa_Cather_2.jpg
Searching for Willa Cather
Arbe Bareis
Oil on Panel
Horticulture Building 
Conifer_Smith_Jesse_Ahrendsen_An_Array_of_Glass.jpg
An Array of Glass
Conifer Smith and Jesse Ahrendsen
Glass
Jone Regional Education Center
Farrin_Laurel_Beltway.jpg
Beltway
Laurel Farrin
Acrylic on Canvas
Kirkwood Center for Continuing Education
Grant_Wood_Mural_Turret_Lathe_Operator3.jpg
Turret Lathe Operator
Sculpture by Sten Eisentrager After a Painting by Grant Wood
Brick
Jones Hall
Henry_Royer_Cathys_Wish.jpg
Cathy's Wish
Henry Royer
Stainless Steel, Corten Steel, Oak, Copper, Boston Marble, Imperial Marble
Jones Hall
Jafar-Mogadam_The_Story_of_Zal.jpg
The Story of Zal
Jafar Mogadam
Painted Tile
Cedar Hall
Jafar_Mogadam_The_History_of_Iran.jpg
The History of Iran
Jafar Mogadam
Acrylic on Canvas
Main Campus Library
Kevin_Tibodeau_StillLife.jpg
Still Life
Kevin Tibodeau
Oil on Panel
The Hotel at Kirkwood Center
Louise_Nevelson_Box_Presidents_Office.jpg
Box
Louise Nevelson
Wood and Stainless Steel
President's Office
Mark_Hobley_A_King_Size_World_Cedar_Hall.jpg
A King Size World
Mark Hobley
Acrylic on Panel
Cedar Hall
Molly_Mason_Fountain_Before_the_Sun_Speaks.jpg
Before the Sun Speaks
Molly Mason
Stainless Steel, Stained Glass
The Kirkwood Center
Sten_Eisentrager_Arbe_Bareis_untitled_rec_center.jpg
Untitled
Sten Eisentrager After a Design by Arbe Bareis
Brick
Michael J Gould Recreation Center

Doug_Hall_untitled.jpg

Doug_Hall_untitled2.jpg

Untitled
Doug Hall
Oil and Alkyd on Canvas
Michael J Gould Recreation Center


Susan_Chrysler_White_Bloom.jpg
Bloom
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Plexiglass
Cedar Hall
Susan_Chrysler_White_It_Must_Be_Heaven_KCCE.jpg
It Must Be Heaven
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Plexiglass
Kirkwod Center for Continuing Education
Susan_Chrysler_White_Mad_About_Saffron.jpg
Mad About Saffron
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Canvas
Kirkwod Center for Continuing Education
Susan_Chrysler_White_Military_Cadence_KCCE.jpg
Military Cadence
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Canvas
Kirkwood Center for Continuing Education
Tonya_Kehoe__Silver_Flower_Horticulture.jpg
Silver Flower
Tonya Kehoe
Acrylic on Canvas
Horticulture
Tonya_Kehoe_Silver_Flower_2.jpg
Silver Flower #2
Tonya Kehoe
Acrylic on Canvas
Horticulture
Molly_Mason_Before_the_Sun_Speaks.jpg
Before the Sun Speaks
Molly Mason
Stainless Steel, Stained Glass
Conference Center
Susan_Chrysler_White_Military_Cadence_KCCE.jpg
Military Cadence
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Canvas
Kirkwood Center for Continuing Education
Susan_Chrysler_White_Mad_About_Saffron.jpg
Mad About Saffron
Susan Chrysler White
Acrylic and Enamel on Canvas
Kirkwod Center for Continuing Education
Jan_Friedman_Meditation_Series.jpg
Meditation Series: Red Dawn
Jan Friedman
Tapestry
Hotel Lobby
John_Schwartzkopf_Geometric_Tango.jpg
Geometric Tango
John Schwartzkopf
Paper Stone
Hotel Lobby
Conifer_Smith_Fused_Color_Fields.jpg
Fused Color Fields
Conifer Smith
Glass
Class Act
Conifer_Smith_Jesse_Ehrendsen_Meditation_Series.jpg
Meditation Series: Red Dawn
Conifer Smith & Jesse Ehrendsen
Blown Glass
Class Act
Erica_Wery_Topping_Out_Party_Murals.jpg
Topping Out Party Murals
Erica Wery
Student Culinary Lobby
Karen_Kilberger_Photographs.jpg
Karen Kilberger
Photographs
Culinary Corridor
Stephen_Metcalf_Hotel_Corridor_Paintings.jpg
Hotel Corridor Paintings
Stephen Metcalf
Oil on Paper
Hotel Coridors
Gene_T_Brown_Jesse_Ahrendsen_Painting_Blown_Glass2.jpg
Gene T. Brown, Painting
Jesse Ahrendsen, Blown Glass
Presidential Suite

 

 

 

 

Arts and Humanities Staff and Faculty

Dr. Jennifer Cunningham
Dean
336 Cedar Hall
319-398-4956
jennifer.cunningham@kirkwood.edu

Ben Jensen
Associate Dean
336 Cedar Hall
319-398-4497
benjamin.jensen@kirkwood.edu

Karla Scriven
Visual and Performing Arts Coordinator/Advisor
336 Cedar Hall
319-398-5896
karla.scriven@kirkwood.edu

Cindy Wilhelm
Department Assistant
336 Cedar Hall
319-398-4913
cindy.wilhelm@kirkwood.edu

Daniela Volkovinsky
Ballantyne Coordinator
336 Cedar Hall
319-398-4331
daniela.volkovinsky@kirkwood.edu

Bill Stephens
Associate Professor, Anthropology
1020 Cedar Hall
319-398-5899
William.Stephens@kirkwood.edu
M.F.A.; University of Iowa

Arbe Baeris-Moyyad
Associate Professor, Painting & Drawing
322 Nielsen Hall
319-398-5704
Arbe.Bareis@kirkwood.edu
M.F.A.; University of Iowa

Christine Flavin
Assistant Professor, Photography
314 Nielsen Hall
319-398-4990
Christine.Flavin@kirkwood.edu
M.F.A.; University of Iowa

Christopher Gray
Assistant Professor, Glass & Sculpture
Art & Theatre Annex room 106
319-398-4960
Christopher.Gray@kirkwood.edu
M.F.A.; Tulane University

Tonya Kehoe
Professor, Painting & Drawing
Iowa City Campus room 343
319-887-3632
Tonya.Kehoe@kirkwood.edu
B.A. and M.A.; University of Iowa

Greta Songe
Associate Professor, Design & Printmaking
322 Nielsen Hall
319-398-5401
Greta.Songe@kirkwood.edu
M.F.A.; University of Iowa

Zach Wollert
Instructor, Ceramics & Sculpture
Art & Theatre Annex room 110
319-398-4308
Zach.Wollert@kirkwood.edu
M.F.A.; Kent State University

Christine Flavin
Assistant Professor, Photography
314 Nielsen Hall
319-398-4990
Christine.Flavin@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; University of California, Berkeley 

M.F.A.; University of Iowa

Randy Langel
Assistant Professor, Digital Media
1222B Linn Hall
319-398-7163

Randy.Langel@kirkwood.edu
A.A.; Kirkwood Community College
B.A.; University of Iowa
M.S.; Arizona State University

Dr. Kristin Hanson
Professor
1020 Cedar Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5339
Kristin.Hanson@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; University of Iowa
Ph.D.; Louisiana State University

Dr. Lydia Hartunian
Professor
329 Nielsen Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5707
Lydia.Hartunian@kirkwood.edu
Ph.D.; University of New York

Dr. Chris McCord
Professor
309 Benton Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5713
Chris.McCord@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; Middle Tennessee State University
M.A.; University of Memphis
Ph.D.; University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Clark Skaggs
Assistant Professor
350 Benton Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5963
eddie.skaggs@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; Southwest Baptist
M.A.; University of Central Missouri

Dr. William Stephens
Professor
1020 Cedar Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5341
William.Stephens@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; University of Texas-Austin
M.A. & Ph.D.; University of Oregon

Dr. David Bullwinkle
Professor
Iowa City Campus room 345
319-887-3615
David.Bullwinkle@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; Brown University
M.A. and Ph.D.; Northwestern University

Dr. Natalia Cherjovsky
Assistant Professor
1019 Cedar Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 4249
natalia.cherjovsky@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; Hunber College
M.A.; Rollins College
Ph.D.; University of Central Florida

Dr. Kevin Shroth
Assistant Professor
Iowa City Campus room 243
319-887-3943
Kevin.Shroth@kirkwood.edu
Ph.D.; University of Iowa

Dr. Fred Kiser
Director of Vocal Activities
380 Cedar Hall
319-398-4959
fred.kiser@kirkwood.edu
B.M.; Bradley University
M.M.; University of Missouri – Columbia
D.M.A.; University of Iowa

Joe Perea
Director of Instrumental Music
375 Cedar Hall
319-398-5598
joe.perea@kirkwood.edu
B.M.; University of Cincinnati – College Conservatory of Music
M.M.; University of North Texas

Dr. Allison Holmes-Bendixen
Instructor, Music
336 Cedar Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5708
Allison.Holmes@kirkwood.edu
M.M; Illinois University – Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D.; University of Iowa


Applied Music Faculty

Dr. Allison Holmes-Bendixen
Title: Voice and Vocal Seminar
Email: allison.holmes@kirkwood.edu
Ben Laur
Title: Voice
Email: benjamin.laur@kirkwood.edu
Jessica Saunders
Title: Voice
Email: jessica.saunders@kirkwood.edu
Lena Nichols
Title: Piano
Email: lena.nichols@kirkwood.edu
Dr. Seong-Sil Kim
Title: Piano
Email: seong-sil.kim@kirkwood.edu
Beth Hoffman
Title: Violin and String Ensemble
Email: beth.hoffman@kirkwood.edu
Dominique Archambeau
Title: Viola
Email: dominique.archambeau@kirkwood.edu
Jeannette Welch
Title: String and Electric Bass
Email: jeannette.welch@kirkwood.edu
Lisa Wissenberg
Title: Clarinet
Email: lisa.wissenberg@kirkwood.edu
Greg Morton
Title: Oboe and Bassoon
Email: greg.morton@kirkwood.edu
Bruce Western
Title: Saxophone
Email: bruce.western@kirkwood.edu
Andy Harris
Title: French Horn
Email: andy.harris@kirkwood.edu
Dan Towey
Title: Guitar
Email: dan.towey@kirkwood.edu
Juan Carlos Mendoza
Title: Voice
Email: juan.mendoza@kirkwood.edu
Rose Bishop
Title: Flute
Email: rose.bishop@kirkwood.edu
Evan Fowler
Title: Trumpet
Email: evan.fowler@kirkwood.edu
Dr. Robert Parker
Title: Low Brass
Email: robert.parker@kirkwood.edu
Joe Perea
Title: Percussion
Email: joe.perea@kirkwood.edu

Dr. Chris McCord
Professor
309 Benton Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5713
Chris.McCord@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; Middle Tennessee State University
M.A.; University of Memphis
Ph.D.; University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Dr. Mark McCreary
Associate Professor
309 Benton Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5404
Mark.McCreary@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; Samford University
M.A. and Ph.D.; Loyola University Chicago

Dr. Scott Samuelson
Professor
Iowa City Campus room 346
319-887-3946
Scott.Samuelson@kirkwood.edu
M.A. and Ph.D.; Emory University

Dr. David Bullwinkle
Professor
Iowa City Campus room 345
319-887-3615
David.Bullwinkle@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; Brown University
M.A. and Ph.D.; Northwestern University

Dr. Matt Hagele
Associate Professor
330 Nielsen Hall
319-398-5426
Matt.Hagele@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; Wheaton College
M.A. and Ph.D.; Florida State University

Dr. Peter Jauhiainen
Professor
330 Nielsen Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5709
Peter.Jauhiainen@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; Wheaton College
M. Div; Princeton Theological Seminary
Ph.D.; The University of Iowa

Dr. Kristin Hanson
Professor, Humanities
Intro to Theatre & Play Analysis
1020 Cedar Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5339
Kristin.Hanson@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; University of Iowa
Ph.D.; Louisiana State University

Dr. Allison Holmes-Bendixen
Instructor, Music
Musical Theatre
336 Cedar Hall
319-398-5708
Allison.Holmes@kirkwood.edu
M.M; Illinois University - Urbana-Champaign
Ph.D.; University of Iowa

Dr. Fred Kiser
Assistant Professor, Music
Director of Vocal Music
380 Cedar Hall
319-398-4959
Fred.Kiser@kirkwood.edu
B.M.; Bradley University
M.M.; University of Missouri – Columbia
D.M.A.; University of Iowa

Emily Ganfield
Costume Design
341 Cedar Hall
319-398-4913
Emily.Ganfield@kirkwood.edu
M.F.A.; Purdue University

Patrick Reading
Set Design
365 Cedar Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 2062
Patrick.Reading@kirkwood.edu
B.S.; Kansas State University

Brenda Falgier
Assistant Professor, ASL
Iowa City Campus room 135
319-313-5657
Brenda.Falgier@kirkwood.edu
B.A. and M.A.; Gallaudet University

Dr. Julia Rabe
Assistant Professor, ASL
1018 Cedar Hall
319-398-4964
Julia.Rabe@kirkwood.edu
M.Ed.; Grand Canyon University
Ed.D.; Lamar University

Richard Heath
Professor, Spanish
Iowa City Campus room 344
319-887-3644
Richard.Heath@kirkwood.edu
B.A.; University of Kansas
M.A.; Indiana University

Claudio Hidalgo
Professor, Spanish
310 Benton Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5915
Claudio.Hidalgo@kirkwood.edu
B.A and M.A.; University of Iowa

Florencia Lynch
Associate Professor, Spanish
314 Nielsen Hall
319-398-5899 ext. 5710
Florencia.Lynch@kirkwood.edu
M.A.; University of Northern Iowa

Bridget Malone
Professor, Spanish
Iowa City Campus room 344
319-887-3618
Bridget.Malone@kirkwood.edu
B.A. and M.A.; University of Iowa



Arts & Humanities Department
336 Cedar Hall
319-398-4913
800-363-2220
artshumanities@kirkwood.edu